ATTENTION LANDLORDS AND PROPERTY MANAGERS: There is a new law that went into effect January 1, 2015 in Marion County / Indianapolis: The Indianapolis Landlord Registration Program.
Beginning January 1, 2015, all owners or landlords of residential rental units in Indianapolis must register their properties with the Indianapolis Department of Code Enforcement. Here are helpful links with more information about registering:
When do I have to register?
The ordinance does not provide a deadline to register (e.g., within three months). However, your obligation to register began on January 1, 2015, so your best bet is to register as soon as possible. Your registration must be renewed annually.
Where do I register?
See the “Landlord Registry User Guide” link provided above for further instructions.
What information do I have to provide?
You will be asked to provide the following for each property:
- Owner’s Name
- Owner’s Telephone Number
- Owner’s Physical Business or Domicile Address
- Secondary Address (does not have to physical and can be used for availability to the public)
- *Name and Address of Property Manager and Registered Agent
- Affirmation that the unit is not subject to any un-remediated code citation or violation
- Affirmation that there is not more than one delinquent payment of property taxes, assessments, or penalties
- Number of units covered by registration
*NOTE: This creates an issue for out-of-state investors managing their own properties. You now have to have a property manager and registered agent on file with the City, even if you are not using one.
How much does it cost?
The cost to register is $5 per rental unit. However, only one $5 fee is required for all units in a rental community (e.g., apartment building). There is a separate fee for each rental unit unless all of your units are registered at the same time.
What else do I need to know?
There are some ongoing obligations imposed on investors by the new law. You must update your registration within thirty (30) days of either of the following events:
- Change of ownership (new owner must register)
- Any changes to information provided in initial registration
What happens if I don’t comply with this law?
If you are found to be in violation of the new law, you will receive notice and thirty (30) days to cure any violation before a penalty is enforced. The penalty for failure to register is $500 per unit. However, the law specifically states that no inspection program will be implemented to enforce the new law.
If you have questions about this new law or need assistance with registering your properties, please contact us.